Search For:

  • Use commas to separate words/phrases
    e.g.: gold drill equipment, drilling equipment

Search In:

Search Sectors:

View this profile in: Français
Company:
Open Text Corp.
Website:
Location:
  • 275 Frank Tompa Dr.
  • WATERLOO, ON
  • N2L0A1

Contact Information

Telephone:
519-888-7111
Alternate Telephone:
888-673-6839
Fax:
519-888-0677
Email:
info@opentext.com
Markets:
Algeria, Australia, China, Denmark, Finland, France, Germany, Hong Kong, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Japan, Korea, Republic of, New Zealand, Norway, Portugal, Russian Federation, Singapore, Sweden, Switzerland, Taiwan, United Kingdom, United States
Number of Employees:
11-100
Year Established:
1991-04-01
Industries Classification:
541510  Computer Systems Design and Related Services
Total Sales ($CDN):
$5,000,000 to $9,999,999
Updated on:
2015-04-09,  Industry Canada
You must have a valid Industry Canada username and password to modify your company information.
Update Profile
Open Text Corp.

Company Profile

NATURE OF BUSINESS: Open Text Corporation develops and sells high performance text retrieval software products. Open Text 5 software is considered to be the market leader in high performance text retrieval technology. Latitude, the award-winning electronic document delivery system, was announced in April 1995. COMPANY BACKGROUND AND HISTORY: Open Text's technology was developed at the University of Waterloo in a $ 6 million collaborative project, originally involving both government sources and the private sector, notably IBM and the Oxford University Press. When in 1990 it became apparent that the developed technology had commercial potential, Open Text Corporation was formed and the technology was acquired. Since that time, Open Text has enhanced and added to this technology which is now in use by more than 2,500 users worldwide. Open Text continues to maintain a close working relationship with the Center for Text Research at the University of Waterloo. In addition, Open Text is a leading participant in the Canadian Strategic Software Consortium, a nine company organization committed to the development of the harmonizing of text and relational database management systems (T/RDBMS). CANARIE Member

Products/Services

  • Open Text 5 The Open Text 5 system is an integrated suite of client/server- based text search, retrieval and viewing technologies, consisting of three components: - TextSearch - a high-speed database search engine based on the company's patented PAT™ string search technology, that enables users to rapidly locate, access and display full text, search individual words and phrases located in multiple databases and file formats. Unlike other systems TextSearch does not require that data be converted to a proprietary format. TextSearch has a multi-file/multi-format architecture which means that support is offered for searching both SGML and native file formats such as WordPerfect, MS Word, Interleaf, FrameMaker, Lotus 123, Excel, DBase etc. - TextQuery - a multi-platform, graphical user interface (GUI) that adheres to "progressive disclosure" principles. Beginners can quickly learn the product, while "power users" can enable additional features, expanding and reconfiguring the GUI to reflect the new capabilities. - TextView - a viewing sub-system that automatically detects if data is to be viewed as "tagged text", such as SGML or HTML, or as one of 40 native file formats. Tagged text is displayed using user-defined style sheets, while native files are displayed exactly as they would appear in their original format.

  • Open Text Latitude Open Text Latitude is the company's newest product offering, and enables users to find, view and re-use information stored in documents, no matter how the documents are formatted or distributed across desktops and servers. Open Text Latitude consists of a number of integrated components including Open Text 5 and: - Open Text's Parallel Execution Monitor and Router (PEMR), for broadcasting concurrent searches across CD-ROM, LAN and WAN networks, and the Internet. A single user query is transparently routed by PEMR to all appropriate search areas. - a page viewer component which supports Common Ground and Adobe Acrobat. - IMAGEnation™ image technology from Spicer Corporation enabling users to view images associated with large format CAD and vector graphics engineering. - an SGML viewer, (for viewing and navigating within SGML documents). Open Text Latitude was recently selected for an Award for Excellence at Seybold Seminars Boston 1995.

  • Open Text Index Open Text Index - a comprehensive search index for the Web available for free at the Open Text Web site (http://www.opentext.com). The technology behind this service powers the Livelink Search component of Open Text's Livelink Intranet software application suite.

  • Internet Anywhere Internet Anywhere - for OEMs and corporate customers who wish to provide their customers/users with an attractively priced suite of best-of-breed tools for e-mail (Eudora Lite), web browsing (Netscape Navigator), HTML authoring (SoftQuad's HoTMetal)and other Internet utilities.

  • COMPUTER SOFTWARE AND SERVICES - SYSTEMS CONSULTING
  • COMPUTER SOFTWARE AND SERVICES - TECHNICAL CONSULTING
  • COMPUTER SOFTWARE AND SERVICES - SYSTEMS INTEGRATION
  • COMPUTER SOFTWARE AND SERVICES - TEXT RETRIEVAL
  • COMPUTER SOFTWARE AND SERVICES - DOCUMENT MANAGEMENT (CHARACTER-BASED)
  • COMPUTER SOFTWARE AND SERVICES - MANAGEMENT INFORMATION SYSTEMS (MIS)
  • COMPUTER SOFTWARE AND SERVICES - EXECUTIVE INFORMATION SYSTEMS (EIS)
  • COMPUTER SOFTWARE AND SERVICES - INVESTMENT MANAGEMENT
  • COMPUTER SOFTWARE AND SERVICES - PORTFOLIO MANAGEMENT
  • COMPUTER SOFTWARE AND SERVICES - DATA CAPTURE, DATA HANDLING TOOLS
  • COMPUTER SOFTWARE AND SERVICES - DATA BASE MANAGEMENT SYSTEMS (DBMS)
  • COMPUTER SOFTWARE AND SERVICES - OBJECT ORIENTED DATA BASE MANAGEMENT SYSTEMS
  • COMPUTER SOFTWARE AND SERVICES - CUSTOM SYSTEM DEVELOPMENT
  • COMPUTER SOFTWARE AND SERVICES - EDUCATION AND TRAINING
  • Livelink

Back to Top

Rechercher :

  • Utiliser la virgule pour séparer les mots/locutions,
    p. ex., équipement de forage aurifère, équipement de forage

Rechercher parmi :

Voir ce profil dans English
Nom d'entreprise:
Open Text Corp.
Site Web:
Emplacement:

Information de contact

Téléphone:
519-888-7111
Autre numéro de téléphone:
888-673-6839
Télécopieur:
519-888-0677
Courriel:
info@opentext.com
Marchés:
Algérie, Allemagne, Australie, Chine, Corée, République de, Danemark, États-Unis, Finlande, France, Hong-Kong, Hongrie, Islande, Italie, Japon, Norvège, Nouvelle-Zélande, Portugal, Royaume-Uni, Russie, Fédération de, Singapour, Suède, Suisse, Taiwan
Nombre d'employés:
11-100
Année de création:
1991-03-01
Classification(s) par industrie:
541510  Conception de systèmes informatiques et services connexes
Total des ventes ($ CAD):
5 000 000 $ à 9 999 999 $
Dernière mise à jour:
2017-03-13,  Industrie Canada
Vous devez avoir un nom d'utilisateur et un mot de passe valides d'Industrie Canada pour modifier les renseignements de votre entreprise.
Mettre le profil à jour
Open Text Corp.

Profil de l'entreprise

CARACTÈRE DE L'ENTREPRISE : Open Text Corporation met au point et vend des logiciels d'extraction de texte haute performance. Le logiciel Open Text 5 est reconnu comme le meilleur produit sur le marché dans ce domaine. Open Text Latitude, le système de fourniture de documents électroniques d'Open Text, qui a été mis sur le marché en avril 1995, a déjà été couronné d'un prix d'excellence. HISTORIQUE DE L'ENTREPRISE : La technologie d'Open Text a été mise au point à l'Université de Waterloo dans le cadre d'un projet collaboratif de 6 millions de dollars qui regroupait initialement des organismes des secteurs public et privé et, notamment, IBM et l'Oxford University Press. En 1990, quand il devint évident que la nouvelle technologie présentait un potentiel commercial certain, la société Open Text Corporation a été formée et s'est portée acquéreur de la technologie en développement. Depuis, Open Text a considérablement amélioré et consolidé cette technologie, qui est désormais utilisée par plus de 2 500 utilisateurs dans le monde entier. Open Text conserve des liens étroits avec le Center for Text Research de l'Université de Waterloo. Elle participe également au Consortium stratégique canadien du logiciel, un regroupement de neuf organismes voués au développement de systèmes mixes combinant des documents textuels et des systèmes de gestion de bases de données relationnelles (T/SGBDR). Membre de CANARIE

Produit ou de service

  • Open Text 5 Open Text 5 est un ensemble intégré d'outils client-serveur pour la recherche, l'extraction et l'affichage d'information textuelle et comprend les trois éléments suivants : - TextSearch - Il s'agit d'un logiciel de recherche plein texte ultrarapide pour l'extraction de l'information contenue dans des base de données qui fait appel à la technologie brevetée d'Open Text, PATMC, pour la recherche de chaînes de caractères. Cette technologie permet de repérer rapidement, d'extraire et d'afficher des mots individuels ou des expressions dans des bases de données et des fichiers se présentant sous de multiples formats. Contrairement aux autres systèmes, TextSearch ne requiert pas que les données soient converties au format spécifique de l'application. TextSearch possède une architecture multi-fichiers et multi-formats qui permet de lire à la fois des fichiers SGML et des fichiers de base de données ou de logiciels de traitement de texte tels que WordPerfect, MS Word, Interleaf, FrameMaker, Lotus 123, Excel, DBase etc. - TextQuery - Cette interface utilisateur graphique (IUG) multiplates-formes adhère au principe de la «révélation progressive» : les novices peuvent apprendre rapidement à maîtriser le produit, tandis que les utilisateurs plus expérimentés peuvent ajouter des fonctions additionnelles et reconfigurer l'interface pour tirer avantage des nouvelles capacités. - TextView - Ce sous-système de visualisation détecte automatiquement si les données sont présentées sous forme de texte «marqué», par exemple les formats SGML ou HTML, ou sous l'un des 40 formats de fichiers formatés reconnus par le système. Le texte marqué peut être affiché à l'aide des feuilles de style définies par l'utilisateur, tandis que les fichiers formatés sont affichés exactement comme ils se présenteraient dans leur format original.

  • Open Text Latitude Open Text Latitude est le plus récent produit d'Open Text; il permet aux utilisateurs de repérer, d'afficher et d'utiliser l'information contenue dans les documents de l'entreprise, peu importe leur format et leur emplacement, sur des postes de travail ou sur des serveurs. Open Text Latitude regroupe plusieurs éléments étroitement intégrés, dont Open Text 5 et les produits suivants : - Parallel Execution Monitor and Router (PEMR) pour la distribution de requêtes concurrentes sur CD-ROM, sur réseaux locaux et étendus et sur l'Internet. La requête de l'utilisateur est acheminée de façon transparente par PEMR à tous les supports et sites de recherche appropriés. - un outil de visualisation de pages supportant Common Ground et Acrobat d'Adobe; - la technologie de traitement d'images IMAGEnationMC de Spicer Corporation, qui permet aux utilisateurs de visualiser des images conçues à l'aide des puissants logiciels de DAO et d'ingénierie graphique vectorielle; - et, enfin, un outil de visualisation SGML (pour la navigation et la visualisation des documents SGML).

  • LOGICIEL ET SERVICES INFORMATIQUES - CONSULTATION DE SYSTEMES
  • LOGICIEL ET SERVICES INFORMATIQUES - CONSULTATION TECHNIQUE
  • LOGICIEL ET SERVICES INFORMATIQUES - INTEGRATION DE SYSTEMES
  • LOGICIEL ET SERVICES INFORMATIQUES - EXTRACTION DE TEXTE
  • LOGICIEL ET SERVICES INFORMATIQUES - GESTION DES DOCUMENTS (CARACTERES)
  • LOGICIEL ET SERVICES INFORMATIQUES - SYSTEMES D'INFORMATION DE GESTION (SIG)
  • LOGICIEL ET SERVICES INFORMATIQUES - GESTION DES PERSONNES-RESSOURCES
  • LOGICIEL ET SERVICES INFORMATIQUES - GESTION DES INVESTISSEMENTS
  • LOGICIEL ET SERVICES INFORMATIQUES - GESTION DU PORTEFEUILLE
  • LOGICIEL ET SERVICES INFORMATIQUES - OUTILS DE SAISIE ET DE MANIPULATION DE DONNEES
  • LOGICIEL ET SERVICES INFORMATIQUES - SYSTEMES DE GESTION DE BASE DE DONNEES (SGBD)
  • LOGICIEL ET SERVICES INFORMATIQUES - SYSTEMES DE GESTION DE BASE DE DONNEES DE NIVEAU OBJET
  • LOGICIEL ET SERVICES INFORMATIQUES - ELABORATION DE SYSTEME ADAPTE
  • LOGICIEL ET SERVICES INFORMATIQUES - ENSEIGNEMENT ET FORMATION

Haut de page