Search For:

  • Use commas to separate words/phrases
    e.g.: gold drill equipment, drilling equipment

Search In:

Search Sectors:

View this profile in: Français
Company:
SL Ross Environmental Research Limited
Website:
Location:
  • 200-1140 Morrison Dr.
  • OTTAWA, ON
  • K2H8S9

Contact Information

Telephone:
613-232-1564
Alternate Telephone:
Fax:
613-232-6660
Email:
info@slross.com
Markets:
Algeria, Australia, Bahrain, Brazil, Cuba, Denmark, Ecuador, Egypt, Finland, Iceland, Iran, Islamic Republic of, Japan, Norway, Qatar, Somalia, Sweden, Trinidad and Tobago, United Kingdom, United States, Venezuela, Bolivarian Republic of
Number of Employees:
1-10
Year Established:
1980-12-01
Industries Classification:
541620  Environmental Consulting Services
541690  Other Scientific and Technical Consulting Services
541710  Research and Development in the Physical, Engineering and Life Sciences
541330  Engineering Services
Total Sales ($CDN):
$500,000 to $999,999
Updated on:
2015-12-21,  Industry Canada
You must have a valid Industry Canada username and password to modify your company information.
Update Profile
SL Ross Environmental Research Limited

Company Profile

SL Ross Environmental Research is one of the world's most experienced oil spill consulting companies. Founded in 1980 the company includes five professionals (three engineers and one biologist, three with advanced degrees) who have a combined experience of 125 person-years in marine oil spill matters. The company has performed over 500 oil spills studies for government and industry, mostly in Canada and the U.S.A., but also in Australia, Bahrain, Denmark, Ecuador, Egypt, Norway, Qatar, Somalia, Taiwan, Thailand, Trinidad & Tobago and Venezuela. About 50% of company activity involves consulting work in the areas of contingency planning, countermeasures stategies/equipment, and training. The other 50% involves research and development to improve oil spill control technologies (much of which is done in the company's test tank facility). Company professionals have provided services in three of the most important oil spill events that have occurred in the world since 1979 (Ixtoc-1, Exxon Valdez and Gulf War) and are recognized and respected by the major international groups that are involved in oil spill issues, such as the UN International Maritime Organization, and International Tanker Owners Pollution Federation Ltd., in London, England. The firm has has been the main oil spill consultant for every offshore oil and gas venture in Canada, starting with the Beaufort Sea activity in the Arctic in the early 1980s, the Hibernia Project in the mid-1980s off Newfoundland, and the current activities off the east coast of Canada, including Terra Nova, Sable, and Panuke/Cohasset/Deep Panuke. Within the oil spill control community SL Ross has a particular reputation for being a "technology" company that is in the vanguard of developing new tools, contingency planning techniques and training packages for use around the world. SL Ross has two main facilities, both in Ottawa, Canada. The first is a regular office where paper studies are done, and the second is a separate warehouse/laboratory where physical studies are performed. The company also takes advantage of Canadian Government facilities around the city, especially the Outdoor Ship Maneuvering Basin operated by the National Research of Canada (NRC) and has done many engineering studies at Ohmsett, the U.S. MMS test tank in New Jersey.

Products/Services

  • Integrated approach for spill countermeasures assessment. We specialize in evaluating spill countermeasures preparedness and ability for specific areas, and making recommendations to upgrade existing capabilities to acceptable levels. This service has been successfully used by various organizations, such as oil companies and industry spill response co-operatives with marine oil production or transportation responsibilities. Assessment methods utilize a highly quantitative approach involving analysis of detailed spill scenarios based on the client's oil spill risks and concerns. First, clean up efficiencies are estimated, assuming the operation were to involve best-practice, state-of-the-art capabilities used efficiently under prevailing spill and environmental conditions. The process is repeated for the existing or desired capability. By quantitatively comparing the two cases, correctable deficiencies are identified, leading to recommendations on equipment and vessel acquisitions, contingency planning and training. There is a high degree of client satisfaction with a quantitative approach to countermeasures capability assessment.

  • Oil spill models and impact assessment systems. Computer models describe the trajectory, behaviour and impact of marine oil spills as a function of type (blowout or batch spill), size, oil properties and prevailing environmental conditions. The oil spill behaviour models have been "ground-truthed" on a number of experimental and real offshore spills. Confident modelling of the behaviour of oil requires a good understanding of the spilled oil's properties (such as pour point, viscosity, density, etc.) and its weathering characteristics. In situations where oil types are known in advance of spills (such as at offshore production sites and at tanker loading facilities), inexpensive analysis of these oils can be carried out to determine the oil-property and spill-weathering characteristics that are necessary for the model. The behaviour model provides information on the spreading, evaporation, natural dispersion and emulsification of the spill at regular intervals and provides data on the spill's viscosity, density, water content, residual surface oil volume in area, dispersed and evaporated volumes, pour point and thickness. Impact is predicted by integrating data on spill conditions, oil properties, environmental conditions, oil toxicity and resource vulnerability. The system operates very quickly allowing defensible, and thoroughly documented decisions on spill response to be made without undue delay during an emergency situation.

  • Oil spill planning and training services. Companies and governments need to prepare comprehensive contingency plans designed to manage various spill situations. These plans examine the entire spill scenario. Beginning with the initial response considerations, the plans identify strategies to be followed by various officials, indicate how the spill clean up is organized, and outline notification and communication procedures and logistical considerations. Clean up strategies are designed to extract the maximum benefit from clean up resources and to minimize the effects on the local environment and wildlife populations. Training course development typically starts with a clear identification of the training needs of a particular organization. Working from a base curriculum, course content and delivery methods are modified to suit the range of spill types, the particular environment of concern, as well as the previous experience of trainees. Unique and particular popular courses today include our dispersant course and our course on in situ burning of marine oil spills.

  • CONSULTING ENGINEER - ENVIRONMENT-IMPACT STUDIES
  • CONSULTING ENGINEER - ENVIRONMENT-POLLUTION CONTROL
  • CONSULTING ENGINEER - ENVIRONMENT-ENVIRONMENTAL STANDARDS
  • ENVIRONMENTAL CONSULTANT - BIOLOGICAL AND ECOSYSTEM STUDIES
  • ENVIRONMENTAL CONSULTANT - CONSULTING
  • ENVIRONMENTAL CONSULTANT - ENGINEERING DESIGN/SPECIFICATIONS
  • ENVIRONMENTAL CONSULTANT - ENVIRONMENTAL IMPACT ASSESSMENTS
  • ENVIRONMENTAL CONSULTANT - EQUIPMENT OR INSTRUMENT DEVELOPMENT
  • ENVIRONMENTAL CONSULTANT - FACILITY/EQUIPMENT OPERATION
  • ENVIRONMENTAL CONSULTANT - GIS APPLICATIONS
  • ENVIRONMENTAL CONSULTANT - LABORATORY TESTING AND ANALYSIS
  • ENVIRONMENTAL CONSULTANT - MAPPING OF RESOURCES/LAND TYPES
  • ENVIRONMENTAL CONSULTANT - RESEARCH
  • ENVIRONMENTAL CONSULTANT - REMOTE SENSING & IMAGE ANALYSIS
  • ENVIRONMENTAL CONSULTANT - RISK ASSESSMENT
  • ENVIRONMENTAL CONSULTANT - SYSTEMS MODELLING OR DESIGN
  • ENVIRONMENTAL CONSULTANT - TRAINING AND EDUCATION
  • ENVIRONMENTAL CONSULTANT - FISHERIES MANAGEMENT
  • ENVIRONMENTAL CONSULTANT - NATURAL AREA PARKS, RECREATION AND TOURISM
  • ENVIRONMENTAL CONSULTANT - COASTAL AREAS AND SHORELINE MANAGEMENT
  • ENVIRONMENTAL CONSULTANT - ARCTIC RESOURCES MANAGEMENT
  • ENVIRONMENTAL CONSULTANT - CONTINGENCY PLANNING FOR SPILLS
  • ENVIRONMENTAL CONSULTANT - INDUSTRY-PETROLEUM AND COAL PRODUCTS
  • ENVIRONMENTAL CONSULTANT - EMERGENCY RESPONSE AND SPILLS CLEANUP
  • CONSULTING ENGINEER - PETROLEUM & NATURAL GAS-EXPLORATION
  • CONSULTING ENGINEER - FOREST/FISH/AGRLTR-FISHERIES
  • Environmental Products and Services

Back to Top

Rechercher :

  • Utiliser la virgule pour séparer les mots/locutions,
    p. ex., équipement de forage aurifère, équipement de forage

Rechercher parmi :

Voir ce profil dans English
Nom d'entreprise:
SL Ross Environmental Research Limited
Site Web:
Emplacement:

Information de contact

Téléphone:
613-232-1564
Autre numéro de téléphone:
Télécopieur:
613-232-6660
Courriel:
info@slross.com
Marchés:
Algérie, Australie, Bahreïn, Brésil, Cuba, Danemark, Égypte, Équateur, États-Unis, Finlande, Iran, République Islamique d', Islande, Japon, Norvège, Qatar, Royaume-Uni, Somalie, Suède, Trinité-et-Tobago, Venezuela, République Bolivarienne du
Nombre d'employés:
1-10
Année de création:
1980-12-01
Classification(s) par industrie:
541620  Services de conseils en environnement
541690  Autres services de conseils scientifiques et techniques
541710  Recherche et développement en sciences physiques, en génie et en sciences de la vie
541330  Services de génie
Total des ventes ($ CAD):
500 000 $ à 999 999 $
Dernière mise à jour:
2015-12-21,  Industrie Canada
Vous devez avoir un nom d'utilisateur et un mot de passe valides d'Industrie Canada pour modifier les renseignements de votre entreprise.
Mettre le profil à jour
SL Ross Environmental Research Limited

Profil de l'entreprise

La SL Ross Environmental Research Ltd. est au nombre des entreprises de consultation qui possèdent le plus d'expérience au monde en matière de déversements d'hydrocarbures. Fondée en 1980, elle réunit six professionnels (cinq ingénieurs et un biologiste, dont quatre possédant un diplôme d'études avancées) qui conjuguent une expérience de 125 années-personnes sur les questions relatives aux déversements en milieu marin. La SL Ross Environmental Research Ltd. a réalisé plus de 500 études pour des gouvernements et des entreprises industrielles, la plupart au Canada et aux États-Unis, mais aussi en Australie, au Bahreïn, au Danemark, en Équateur, en Égypte, en Norvège, au Qatar, en Somalie, à Taïwan, en Thaïlande, à Trinidad et Tobago et au Venezuela. Environ 50 % des activités de notre entreprise sont consacrées à des services de consultation concernant des plans d’intervention en cas d’urgence, des stratégies et du matériel d’intervention, et de la formation. L’autre 50 % est consacrée à la recherche et à la mise au point de meilleures techniques de lutte contre les déversements de pétrole (dont une bonne partie est effectuée dans notre bassin d’essai). Les professionnels de notre entreprise ont fourni des services dans trois des plus grands déversements d'hydrocarbures survenus dans le monde depuis 1979 (lxtoc-1, Exxon Valdez et la guerre du Golfe) et se sont acquis une excellente réputation ainsi que le respect des grands groupes internationaux qui s'intéressent aux déversements d'hydrocarbures comme l'Organisation internationale maritime des Nations unies et l'International Tanker Owners Pollution Federation Ltd., établie à Londres (Angleterre). Nous avons été le principal consultant sur les questions de déversement dans toutes les co-entreprises de production de pétrole et de gaz en mer au Canada, d'abord pour le projet de la mer Beaufort en Arctique, au début des années 1980, puis pour le projet Hibernia à Terre-Neuve, au milieu des années 1980, et les projets actuellement en cours sur la côte est du Canada, notamment ceux de Terra Nova, de Sable et de Panuke/Cohasset. Dans le milieu des entrepreneurs spécialisés dans la lutte contre les déversements d'hydrocarbures, la SL Ross jouit d'une réputation enviable à titre d'entreprise technologique à l'avant-garde dans la mise au point de nouveaux outils, de techniques de planification des mesures d'urgence et de programmes de formation utilisés partout dans le monde. La société SL Ross possède deux établissements principaux, les deux situés à Ottawa (Canada). Le premier est un bureau ordinaire où les études documentaires sont réalisées; le second est un entrepôt et laboratoire où les études physiques sont effectuées. Nous avons également accès à des installations du gouvernement canadien situées à Ottawa, et plus particulièrement au bassin extérieur de manoeuvre marine du Conseil national de recherches du Canada (CNRC). Nous avons fait plusieurs études d’ingénierie dans le bassin d’essai du MMS des États-Unis à Ohmsett (New Jersey).

Produit ou de service

  • Approche d'évaluation intégrée des mesures d'intervention en cas de déversement d'hydrocarbures. Nous nous spécialisons dans l'évaluation des plans et des dispositifs d'intervention en cas de déversement accidentel dans des secteurs particuliers ainsi que dans la formulation de recommandations destinées à améliorer les dispositifs existants pour les rendre acceptables. Nos services ont été appréciés par diverses organisations, notamment des responsables des interventions en cas de déversement d'hydrocarbures travaillant avec l'industrie pétrolière ainsi que des entreprises de production de pétrole en mer ou de transport de produits pétroliers. Nos méthodes d'évaluation sont fondées sur une approche à forte composante quantitative dans laquelle nous analysons en détails des déversements hypothétiques dont les caractéristiques sont établies d'après le risque et les demandes propres à la situation du client. Nous estimons l'efficacité des mesures de nettoyage, en supposant qu'on choisira les techniques les meilleures et les plus modernes en considération des conditions du milieu et des caractéristiques de la nappe d'hydrocarbures. Cette opération est reprise pour le dispositif existant ou souhaité. La comparaison quantitative des deux cas nous permet de déterminer les lacunes susceptibles d'être corrigées, et de formuler des recommandations relativement à l'acquisition d'équipement et de bateaux, aux plans d'urgence et à la formation. Notre clientèle est très satisfaite de l'approche quantitative que nous appliquons à l'évaluation des moyens d'intervention d'urgence.

  • Les systèmes de modélisation et d'évaluation d'impact de déversement de pétrole. On possède des modèles informatiques représentant la trajectoire, le comportement et les effets des hydrocarbures déversés en milieu marin en fonction du type de déversement (éruption ou déversement d'une charge), de son étendue, des propriétés des hydrocarbures et des conditions du milieu. Les modèles représentant le comportement des hydrocarbures ont été éprouvés par l'étude de déversements expérimentaux et réels en mer. La conception d'un modèle fiable du comportement des hydrocarbures déversés suppose qu'on comprend bien leurs propriétés (point d'écoulement, viscosité, densité, etc.) et l'effet des conditions météorologiques sur la nappe. Lorsqu'on connaît la nature des hydrocarbures déversés (e.g. lorsque le déversement survient dans un site de production pétrolière en mer ou dans une installation de chargement de bateaux-citernes), on peut soumettre les hydrocarbures à des analyses peu coûteuses pour déterminer leurs propriétés et voir comment les conditions météorologiques peuvent influer sur la nappe, afin d'incorporer ces données au modèle. Le modèle de comportement apporte à intervalles réguliers de l'information sur l'étalement, l'évaporation, la dispersion et l'émulsification naturelles de la nappe d'hydrocarbures; il fournit aussi des données sur les points suivants viscosité, densité, teneur en eau, volume d'hydrocarbures de surface résiduels par unité de superficie, volumes dispersés et évaporés, point d'écoulement et épaisseur de la nappe. Les effets sont estimés par l'intégration des données recueillies sur l'état de la nappe, les propriétés des hydrocarbures, les conditions du milieu, la toxicité des hydrocarbures et la fragilité des ressources. Les résultats sont obtenus très rapidement, ce qui donne une base d'information complète pour fonder et défendre les décisions concernant les mesures d'intervention à mettre en o euvre sans délai en cas d'urgence.

  • Services de planification et de formation en rapport avec les interventions d'urgence en cas de déversement accidentel d'hydrocarbures. Les entreprises et les gouvernements doivent préparer des plans d'urgence complets pour intervenir dans divers types de déversements accidentels. Dans ces plans, on envisage la situation dans son ensemble. On examine d'abord les divers aspects de l'intervention initiale, puis on arrête les stratégies à mettre en oeuvre par les responsables concernés, en précisant comment le nettoyage des lieux touchés doit être organisé, quelles doivent être les procédures de notification et de communication et quels aspects doivent être considérés au point de vue logistique. Les stratégies de nettoyage visent à tirer le maximum des ressources d'assainissement et à réduire le plus possible les conséquences pour l'environnement et pour la flore et la faune des lieux. Pour la mise au point d'un programme de formation, on commence généralement par définir clairement les besoins en formation propres à l'organisation. À partir d'un programme de base, on élabore le contenu du cours et les méthodes d'enseignement en les adaptant aux divers types de déversements accidentels pouvant survenir, au milieu le plus susceptible d'être touché et à l'expérience antérieure des élèves. Parmi les cours spéciaux que nous avons mis au point et qui sont actuellement très demandés, signalons le cours sur les facteurs de dispersion et celui sur le brûlage in situ des nappes d'hydrocarbures en milieu marin.

  • INGÉNIEUR-CONSEIL - ENVIRONNEMENT-ETUDES D'IMPACT
  • INGÉNIEUR-CONSEIL - ENVIRONNEMENT-CONTROLE DE LA POLLUTION
  • INGÉNIEUR-CONSEIL - ENVIRONNEMENT-NORMES DE PROTECTION DE L'ENVIRONNEMENT
  • EXPERT-CONSEIL EN ENVIRONNEMENT - ETUDES SUR LA BIOLOGIE ET LES ECOSYSTEMES
  • EXPERT-CONSEIL EN ENVIRONNEMENT - CONSEILS
  • EXPERT-CONSEIL EN ENVIRONNEMENT - PLANS ET SPECIFICATIONS (GENIE CIVIL)
  • EXPERT-CONSEIL EN ENVIRONNEMENT - ETUDES D'IMPACT SUR L'ENVIRONNEMENT
  • EXPERT-CONSEIL EN ENVIRONNEMENT - MISE AU POINT DE MATERIEL OU D'INSTRUMENTS
  • EXPERT-CONSEIL EN ENVIRONNEMENT - EXPLOITATION D'INSTALLATIONS OU DE MATERIEL
  • EXPERT-CONSEIL EN ENVIRONNEMENT - SYSTEMES DE GEOMATIQUE
  • EXPERT-CONSEIL EN ENVIRONNEMENT - TESTS ET ANALYSE EN LABORATOIRE
  • EXPERT-CONSEIL EN ENVIRONNEMENT - CARTOGRAPHIE DES RESSOURCES, TYPES DE SOL
  • EXPERT-CONSEIL EN ENVIRONNEMENT - RECHERCHES
  • EXPERT-CONSEIL EN ENVIRONNEMENT - TELEDETECTION ET ANALYSE D'IMAGES
  • EXPERT-CONSEIL EN ENVIRONNEMENT - EVALUATION DES RISQUES
  • EXPERT-CONSEIL EN ENVIRONNEMENT - CONCEPTION OU ETABLISSEMENT DE MODELES DE SYSTEMES
  • EXPERT-CONSEIL EN ENVIRONNEMENT - EDUCATION ET FORMATION EN MATIERE D'ENVIRONNEMENT
  • EXPERT-CONSEIL EN ENVIRONNEMENT - GESTION DES PECHES
  • EXPERT-CONSEIL EN ENVIRONNEMENT - PARCS, LOISIRS ET TOURISME EN MILIEU NATUREL
  • EXPERT-CONSEIL EN ENVIRONNEMENT - GESTION DES REGIONS COTIERES ET DU LITTORAL
  • EXPERT-CONSEIL EN ENVIRONNEMENT - GESTION DES RESSOURCES DE L'ARCTIQUE
  • EXPERT-CONSEIL EN ENVIRONNEMENT - PLANIFICATION DE MESURES POUR NETTOYAGE DES DEVERSEMENTS
  • EXPERT-CONSEIL EN ENVIRONNEMENT - INDUSTRIE-PETROLIERE ET PRODUITS DE CHARBON
  • EXPERT-CONSEIL EN ENVIRONNEMENT - MESURES D'URGENCE ET NETTOYAGE DES DEVERSEMENTS
  • INGÉNIEUR-CONSEIL - PÉTROLE ET GAZ NATUREL-EXPLORATION
  • INGÉNIEUR-CONSEIL - FORETS/PECHES/AGRI.-PECHES
  • Produits et services environnementaux

Haut de page